The Irene Epstein Memorial Scholarship provides scholarships for deserving seniors at Fairfax High School that need financial assistance in order to attend college. This scholarship honors the memory of Irene Epstein who cared greatly about helping young people pursue an education. Recipients must plan to study science, engineering, mathematics, nursing, or medicine in college. The awards are made by the Los Angeles Chapter of SAMPE based on the student’s academic merit, need, an essay on his/her goals and plans for the future, and recommendations from teachers and counselors at Fairfax High School. This is the 19th year that these scholarships have been awarded.  Past recipients have gone on to medical schools, and have earned advanced engineering and science degrees. The scholarship program was originally funded by contributions from The Aerospace Corporation and the International Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering. Since then, many individuals and companies have contributed generously to help the fund grow so that the amount of the scholarship awards has steadily increased, quadrapuling since it was first awarded.

The scholarships are presented at our Chapter meeting in May.   Our Chapter also endeavors to arrange with local companies to provide summer employment for the scholarship recipients.

Below is a photo of the 2017 recipients.

To contribute to the scholarship fund, please send checks to:

The Irene Epstein Memorial Scholarship Fund

c/o SAMPE Los Angeles Chapter

P.O. Box 103,

El Segundo, CA  90245

Jennifer Siddique, Araceli Marcial, Elizabeth Suarez, and Michael Boychuk.


The information on these pages is not meant to endorse any particular company, activity, or product.

Copyright © 2018 SAMPE Los Angeles Chapter

Website hosted by Deltronix Enterprises


Both Suarez and Siddique will both attend UC Irvine majoring in Engineering and Chemistry, respectively. Marcial will attend Harvard University majoring in Civil Engineering and Boychuk will study Mathematics at UC San Diego.

In addition, the 2017 College Book recipients are Hye Chung, Yanely Hernandez, Eli Lopez Ortez and Ashley Truong.